The Doge’s Palace

The Doge's Palace - Venice

The Doge’s Palace – Venice

The Doge’s Palace (Palazzo Ducale) was the residence of the Doge of Venice, the supreme authority of the Republic of Venice, until the Napoleonic occupation of the city in 1797. It is now part of the Venetian museums network, as well as one of the main landmarks of the city. If you are going to visit Venice you will probably walk to St. Mark’s square where it has been built. There are many ways to photograph this gothic palace, both from the “Piazzetta” and from “Riva degli Schiavoni”. In the picture above I went for a symmetrical upward view of the Doge’s Palace, so to hide the people walking across and to emphasize the majesty and solitude of the building.

Location: Saint Mark’s Square, Venice.

What to shot: The Doge’s Palace, St. Mark’s Square and the Old Procuracies, the Bridge of Sighs, San Giorgio Maggiore’s island and a lot of street life with tourists, gondoliers and many gondolas.

Ideal time to shot: Sunrise, night.

Gear: Wide angles, standard zooms.

How to get there: Public transport water bus stations S. Marco S. Zaccaria (line 1, 2, 4.1, 4.2, 5.1, 5.2).

Coordinates: 45°26′00″N 12°20′25″E

24 thoughts on “The Doge’s Palace

  1. … and I applaud your reasons for framing the shot thus, Bruno ! – I have no wish to see hordes of vapid tourists ! Bad enough when Stringer and I featured among them. ;-)
    Lovely shot – just lovely,

  2. Great photos ! I really like the way you are posting : with coordinates, location, how to get there … very good idea to do that . And this photo is awesome : all the details. You are doing a great work :)
    Cheers

    • Thank you so much Riic2000! I’m really happy you appreciate it. I love to travel and to take pictures but sometime it’s really challenging to discover the best spots to shot in every new place! So I like to look for information from other photographers and I love to share my “tips” about my own city. :-) Ciao!

  3. The photo takes my breath away, it’s impression is adorable. I love to be in a peaceful and beautiful place like this. Thanks for sharing useful details for those who love holding a camera <3

    • Thank you Vothikhanhhoa, I’m glad you like it! I love to share some tips because I know how challenging it can be to discover the best spots to shot in a new place! ;-)

  4. Great photos. I keep dipping in and out of your photos this week. I am reading Dan Brown’s inferno. His descriptions are lacking in conjuring the beauty of Venice. So glad I found your blog.

    • Hi Janice, thank you for stopping by! I haven’t read the book, but I hope my pictures helped you to sink into the history and imagine the places visited by the characters! ;-) Ciao!

  5. How I loved Venice when I visited there, oh, so long ago. Thanks for conjuring up memories of your wonderful city with your absolutely stunning photos. Love the composition of this one – unique point of view for a site that’s so often photographed in full.

Leave a Reply

mataroundgarda

Suso in Italia bella giace un laco, | a piè de l’Alpe che serra Lamagna | sovra Tiralli, c’ha nome Benaco. — Dante Alighieri, Canto XX Inferno

WazArs

mestieri d'arte, manualità creativa, diplomazia culturale ed economica

Margarita

I see, I snap, I share

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 952 other followers

