Sunrise at Bled Lake – Slovenia

Sunrise at Bled Lake

Sunrise at Bled Lake

Photo tip of the week: Simplicity.

Location: Bled Lake, Slovenia.

What to shot: Bled really is the perfect training spot for landscape photography. Its lake is dominated by the iconic Bled Castle, perched on a rock, and embellished with a fairy-tale small island, which lies just in the middle of the lake, between the thermal waters and the Alps, and  is home to the Assumption of Mary Pilgrimage Gothic Church. A local tradition at weddings is for the husband to carry his new bride up these 99 steps, during which the bride must remain silent. I was there for three days of a rainy week of June, but I was lucky enough to spectate to a gorgeous sunrise, when the sun broke through the clouds, and filled up the sky with brighty colors. Getting up early is really well rewarded at Bled. You can place your tripod on the bank on the west shore of the lake and take your morning shots pointing your camera right toward the small island and the sun rising behind. Sunset and the blue hour offer good light condition too, of which you can take advantage from the boardwalk on the south coast.

Ideal time to shot: Both sunrise and sunset.

Gear: Standard zooms in the 24-105 mm range.

How to get there: The nearest international airport is Ljubljana Airport, 36 km away. Regular bus routes connect Bled with all major towns in Slovenia. The Lesce-Bled railway station (4 km) lies on the Villach – Jesenice – Ljubljana – Belgrade – Istanbul – Athens railway line.

Coordinates: 46°22′04″ N 14°06′45″ E

36 thoughts on “Sunrise at Bled Lake – Slovenia

    • It was on my “bucket list” for a while too, till I made up my mind, took the car and drove there. It really payed back the effort: wonderful place, tasty food, relaxed atmosphere, and a lot of photographic occasions! Hooray for bucket list!😉

  1. That’s an excellent photo and thanks for all the information too. I wish now that I’d got up early when I was staying in Bled a couple of years ago. It is such a photogenic place.

    • Thanks! The atmosphere as I was there placing my tripod was even better. I really loved waiting for the sun to rise.. totally payed back the early wake up😉

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Between | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

    • Thanks for dropping by, and I’m glad for inspiring you😉 It could really be an awesome place for some good backpacking. A lot of hiking and outing possibilities there, in an exciting natural park and in a cheap country!😉
      Hope to see your Bled pictures soon!

  3. Beautiful shot, Bruno. I’m looking forward to seeing Bled for myself in about, during a trip that will take in Vienna, Bratislava, Budapest, Croatia, Slovenia and Venice.

    • What a wonderful plan you have! You will surely like Bled, a lot of possibilities for geocaching there, and Venice too.. if you enjoy geocaching and “treasures” hunting you will probably love the “Venice The Ruyi” book! Hope you can find some idea for your photos on my blog😉

      • Thanks for the advice, Bruno. I just ordered ‘Venice The Ruyi’! It looks exactly like something I’d like to try. I wish I’d known about the Rome one when I was there a couple of years ago.

  4. Oh!!! I love this! Lake Bled was one of the places I really wanted to go on my summer adventure but I never made it that far. Maybe next time. Awesome photo!

  5. Beautiful! That local wedding tradition makes us giggle, though. Presumably, while the bride remains silent as she is carried up 99 steps, the groom may grunt and complain as needed?

  6. Pingback: Sunrise at Bled Lake – A few minutes later | Shooting Venice and Berlin

  7. Love the vibrancy of your shots! I look forward to seeing more shots, especially when I am not actively traveling and need a wanderlust fix. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Stunning photo! I had a good fortune to stay at Bled during school holidays many years ago.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and liking my post. I will now follow your blog.

  9. Beautiful Lake Bled! we were just there last month, just before Italy and Croatia, on a road trip through parts of Europe. It is truly so beautiful there and your pictures of it are stunning!

  10. Amazingly beautiful. My in-laws were in Slovenia last year and raved. We’ve been hoping to make it part of a longer trip to visit family in Croatia while we are in Italy for the year. This photo puts a trip to Slovenia higher on the priority list!

    • Hi Strembanis! Slovenia was on my bucket list for a while… It is really a great country, a lot of hiking and outing possibilities there and an exciting natur I can only recommend it! Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Airway Jedi

Tips and tricks on intubation, airway management, anesthesia and safe patient care

About Words - Cambridge Dictionaries Online blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

winckelmann in venedig

sopravvivere in una città sotto assedio

mamangerie

French food from a family table

