Northern Lagoon of Venice – Cavallino Treporti

Dragon boat at Cavallino - Venice

Dragon boat at Cavallino – Venice

Not only Venice is worthy a photographer’s attention, also the neighborhood offers amazing occasions to take splendid pictures. I love to explore the many islands, small villages and beaches that are disseminated in the Venetian lagoon to look for the surprising beauty that lies outside the main tourist routes. I was strolling around Cavallino when I saw this characteristic row boat as the sun was setting down, and the scene was filled with its lovely golden light.

Location: Piazza Cavallino, Cavallino-Treporti, Venice.

What to shot: The small village of Cavallino lies next to the lagoon and has a waterside road that allows to look at the lagoon comfortably while remaining stable on the land. Be it on your foot, in your car, or even better riding your bike, as it offers an amazing occasion for a cycle trip, enjoy the Northern and wilder part of the lagoon of Venice.

Ideal time to shot: Both sunrise and sunset.

Gear: Wide angles, standard zooms.

How to get there: From Venice, public transport water bus line 14 or 15 to Punta Sabbioni, and then autobus 5 to Piazza Cavallino.

Coordinates: 45°29′03″N 12°33′03″E

With this picture I participate to the weekly photo challenge ‘Fray

 

19 thoughts on “Northern Lagoon of Venice – Cavallino Treporti

  1. You give me double pleasure. You are an amazing photographer of light, and you are a wonderful travel guide to Venice where I didn’t go on my recent trip, although I was very close. I’ll store your Venice to guide my eventual visit. Thank you.

  2. Seems like there are no limits to the number of beautiful shots around la Serenissima, Bruno ! – certainly, you’re showing all of them us, lucky people that we are !🙂

  3. Absolutely majestic…what vivid colour and such tranquility, with a flare of adventure running through it in that florid, ruddy light…superb. Loved reading about your explorations. I would love to visit these places one day.

    A song sprang to mind as I looked upon this post. I thought I might share it with you here. P.S. I realize the Cayman Islands are not anywhere near Venice, but still, this song was what sluiced me mind when I looked upon this glorious scene, so here you go: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPWYOz15gR0

    Cheers!

    Autumn Jade

  4. Oh my! I first thought this was in Asia. Having never been to Italy, I have no idea what to expect. This type of scenery looks exactly where I’d love to visit. Thanks, too for the info behind the pic.🙂

    • Hi Hilary! You are right, it looks a little bit like Asia!🙂 This is not the first place you visit when you are coming to Venice, but it’s a good alternative if you are looking for some nature, some beach or if you already have had enough of the crowded alleys of Venice! Thank you for your comment and for stopping by!🙂

      • Same to you with my blog! That’s very interesting. I want to do some more research into Venice now. It seems as if only a fraction is presented in tourism oriented content.🙂 I love your photos and will keep looking for more Venice that contrasts my limited perceptions.

Leave a Reply

The Airway Jedi

Tips and tricks on intubation, airway management, anesthesia and safe patient care

About Words - Cambridge Dictionaries Online blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

winckelmann in venedig

sopravvivere in una città sotto assedio

mamangerie

French food from a family table

