Traffic over the Grand Canal

Grand Canal

Grand Canal

I have just received my new Sony alpha a6000 (ILCE 6000), and I am already in love with it. It is so amazing to have such a powerful tool in such a small body. Look like this mirrorless thing can become my faithful buddy of everyday life. Being so small and light, it so handy I always put it into my bag, ready to take it out if any photographic occasion should happen. I think it could spur anyone’s street-life photographer vein a lot. Meanwhile I share one of the first shot I have taken with the tiny Sony, right this morning, heading to work, but finding easily an opportunity to stop and snap some pictures.

Location: The Grand Canal (Canal Grande) is the major water-traffic corridor of Venice. With its large reverse-S shape, it divides the central districts of the city. Leading at one end into the lagoon near the Santa Lucia railway station and at the other end into Saint Mark Basin, it is crowded with water buses, taxis and gondolas. Its banks are lined with almost 200 buildings, ranging from the 13th to the 18th century, showing the richness of noble Venetian families, and still representing the pride and the uniqueness of Venice. Four bridges cross the canal: the Rialto Bridge, the Ponte degli Scalzi, the Ponte dell’Accademia (from wich I took this picture), and the new Ponte della Costituzione, by Santiago Calatrava.

What to shot: From Ponte dell’Accademia you’ll have a vantage point toward part of the Grand Canal with its pompous buildings, the church of Santa Maria della Salute, and Punta della Dogana, where the water of the Canal Grande meets Saint Mark Basin’s ones.

Ideal time to shot: At sunrise you can frame with the sun just behind the church of Santa Maria della Salute. Also for this reason this site has become one of the favorite spots by many local and foreigner photographers. During daytime you can still catch some good glimpses and photos of the Grand Canal as it become the busy, crowded artery of the city as it is.

Gear: Wide angle to standard zooms.

How to get there: By foot is just a short walk (10 to 15 minutes) both from St. Mark Square and from the railway station. Public transport water bus station Accademia (line 1, 2).

Coordinates: 45°25′54″N 12°19′44″E

45 thoughts on “Traffic over the Grand Canal

  1. FABULOUS, Bruno ! This famous frame is in the files of everyone who’s visited la Serenissima, but very, very few have managed to make it look quite like this ! (And I have never seen it with a purple motorboat !)
    I hope Andrew sees this shot and thinks about your new baby.

  2. One such file photo is my own. Look the same shot, with lesser results, in June this year, with my light and trusty
    Sony Nex-7/ Sony 4/10-18 lens. The purple motoscaffo wasn’t in view, however ;-(. Congrats on another great frame!

  3. The photograph of The Grand Canal is beautiful. I like all your photos. Living on Vancouver Island, Canada, I hope one day to visit Venice and Paris. You take pictures of locations (hidden treasures) not seen in tourist magazines. I really like the one of the ice cream vendor. Looking forward to seeing more of your photos.

  4. Photographed and painted Venice more times than I care to remember. The fascination of the city is that the light changes with the water, the reflections and the sky. Excellent shot. Many thanks for checking my little blog site – appreciated.

  5. Stunning shot! I have been thinking of getting a mirrorless too. What’s the other gear that you usually use, and what would you describe as the benefits and disadvantages of the Sony alpha?

    • Thank you so much Kan! I was already using my trusted Canon 6D, that is a full frame digital reflex that I love, but when I am going around with it I am usually also carrying a backpack full of lenses, filters, tripod and so on. That’s why I love a more “meditative” photography, taking my time in front of a sunset or a sunrise to choose where to set my tripod, composing the frame with no hurry, trying different filters.
      Since I got the Sony Alpha I got to appreciate a more direct photography, that lead me to carry my small new friend out with me a lot more often, to try some street life and to lose less occasions. It lacks some of the quality of the bigger Canon, but it is way more handling, lighter, it fits in any of my shoulder bag, and surprised me with the technology wich is stuffed into it! I think a mirrorless could fit perfectly also into the luggage of a great travelaholic like you!😉

      • Thanks so much for the insights, Bruno. Appreciate it! I am still deciding between the A6000 and the new A7 II. I didn’t see it on your gear list, so I thought I’d check- are you using the kit lens with the A6000 or another lens for your travel/ landscape shooting?

  6. Pingback: Stillness | Shooting Venice and more

Leave a Reply

The Airway Jedi

Tips and tricks on intubation, airway management, anesthesia and safe patient care

About Words - Cambridge Dictionaries Online blog

Commenting on developments in the English language

winckelmann in venedig

sopravvivere in una città sotto assedio

mamangerie

French food from a family table

